Purpose

The purpose of the survey was to collect data on the ways my colleagues currently use technologies, would like to use technologies, and would like to engage in professional development about technology integration at work. This information would be used to guide the planning and implementation of future professional development trainings. This report presents the results collected through the Professional Development Needs Assessment in Technology survey.

Methods

I created a survey using Google Forms and sent it to my colleagues. 34 responses were collected. Data collection began June 10, 2013 and ended June 15, 2013.

Organization of Report

This report is divided into three sections:

·      Teacher demographics: data on my colleagues’ years of experience

·      Open-ended responses: data on my colleagues’ responses to two open-ended questions regarding the ways my colleagues currently use technologies and would like to use technologies

·  Teachers’ professional development and technology: data on my colleagues’ interests in particular forms of professional development

Teacher Demographics

Years of Experience

Most participants in this survey (50%) have less than 1 year of experience. Those with 1-2 years of experience are the second largest group (31%).

Open-ended Responses

My colleagues responded two open-ended questions in the survey. These questions were:

1.     How do you utilize technology in your daily lessons?

2.     In what ways would you like to change or improve how you use technology in your classroom?

Before summarizing the responses to these questions, it is important to note that most of my colleagues (71%) use technology daily during instruction. Yet, the result is not surprising as all teachers in our university are given laptops to take home so they can integrate technology into their classrooms and carry on preparing resources and other materials ready for school. 
1.     How do you utilize technology in your daily lessons?

After reviewing responses from my colleagues, I noticed some trends. Most of my colleagues use Microsoft PowerPoint or Word. They also use videos/YouTube in their teaching in addition to the coursework software, CDs, and DVDs that accompany the books. Facebook is highly familiar to my colleagues and also the most popular social network integrated into the classroom while some other social media tools such as blogs, wikis, and Google sites are less used to teach. Most of my colleagues also use technology to project websites, worksheets, and presentations on the board.

2.     In what ways would you like to change or improve how you use technology in your classroom?

We have interactive whiteboards in our classrooms, but the majority of my colleagues felt that they needed training on how to thoroughly exploit the smart board. My colleagues are especially interested in learning more about Web 2.0 tools and smart phone applications. Although the biggest concern by my colleagues is that they use technology in the traditional sense such as using the projectors, PPTs, and some websites, they are all eager to learn more about technology because they believe that integrating technology into their classrooms can increase student engagement.

Teachers’ Professional Development and Technology

1.     Technology-focused Professional Development

The majority of responses from my colleagues (31%) are requests for trainings with interactive whiteboards. The second largest group of responses (23%) is requests for trainings on the use of Web 2.0 Tools and the third largest group (20%) indicates a desire for training on e-Portfolios. Finally, the fourth group of responses (16%) points toward an interest in training on Website Design and the fifth group of responses is requests for training in Computer Troubleshooting.
2.     Professional Development Delivery Format Preferences

More than half of my colleagues (59%) indicate a preference for a combination of both while 29% indicate a preference for face-to-face professional development. Finally, 12% indicate a preference for online/distance learning.

Conclusions

Overall, the findings from this survey offer three conclusions. First of all, most of my colleagues integrate technology into their classrooms on a daily basis, yet they feel that they are using basic technology tools. Thus, future trainings should address this issue and focus on how teachers can use the technology in their teaching. Secondly, my colleagues seem interested in both online professional development and face-to-face professional development; therefore, online forms of professional development should also be implemented in our program. Finally, I believe that we need a carefully designed technology plan to effectively use technology in our teaching as clear goals for the use or integration of technology can increase confidence and willingness of my colleagues to use technology to create a rich and meaningful instruction for our students. Therefore, I will be working on planning technology related professional development starting this summer as I know that my colleagues value technology as an important part of our program. I hope that consistent professional development opportunities will help to make effective use of existing and emerging digital tools in support of student learning. 

Melissa White
6/16/2013 11:44:46 am

Your results are not surprising to me. It does not seem to matter the building or location, the answers seem to be the same. Everyone is able to do the basics, but they are not using collaborative tools like wikis or google docs. I am not sure how I would work without them! Great idea that you are going to put together training next year. You will be greatly appreciated.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.