For my graduate course (CEP 811), this week I learnt more about wikis, which permit asynchronous communication and group collaboration.  I am impressed with how easy it is to add, edit, or delete material from the wikis. Since wikis offer a flexible web-based collaboration tool, they can be used to increase student involvement. In addition, faculty members can use them to collaborate on projects. Yet, since any visitor to the wiki can change its content, it is important to ensure that inappropriate language is not allowed. But, because this can be time-consuming, your wiki can require authorization so that only group members can edit its content.

Despite their downsides, wikis show great potential as a flexible collaboration tool. Here is the wiki I created at Wikispaces for my school entitled SeppMeetings. This is a private wiki and therefore its content can only be viewed and modified by its members. This wiki will be a repository for meeting notes. Agenda items will be uploaded prior to our level meetings and notes will be added during the meeting. Also, since we can export our notes to Microsoft Word, reporting will be easier.

In addition, I also edited pages for my workplace in Wikipedia. First, I checked all the links on the page and found out that they were all broken. Then, I made the necessary updates. Also, I checked the information in the organization section of the page and then updated it. I added missing information related to two new faculties, School of Law and School of Islamic Studies, and one graduate school, Graduate School of Business. I also updated all the links in this section.

Here is a screenshot of my update:  
This week, I really enjoyed creating and editing wikis. You can also create your own wiki with one of these websites:

PBworks

Wikispaces

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.