For my graduate course (CEP 812), this week we have focused on defining problems of practice we face on a daily basis. The kinds of problems that we solve vary dramatically, yet for this week we have learnt about well structured, ill-structured (complex), and wicked (unsolveable) problems.

My first assignment asked me to create a screencast focusing on one of these problems. I decided to focus on previewing a text for reading comprehension. My Advanced Level English Language Learning students struggle with the complexity of the academic texts. I consider this a well-structured problem because students must preview a text for improving comprehension before they actually read it. Although there are some ways to preview a text, all of these strategies aim to help students to identify the key vocabulary and to get a general idea about the whole text.

Below is my screencast about WordSift. You can find this great tool here.
Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.
5/12/2013 12:04:11 pm

This is excellent! I see so many tools when I am teaching and I forget about them until I get reacquainted with them in presentations such as yours. Word sift is such an example! It is a great tool and though it is similar to tools like Wordle or Tagxedo, Wordsift takes it to the next level. Thanks for sharing!
Melissa

Reply
Denise Keil
5/12/2013 01:20:07 pm

Hi Meltem,
It was great to see another variation to help advanced language students grasp the language. I view your information as a valuable resource and realize that what I am struggling with in an inner city school you deal with at the University level and cannot imagine the time and energy you have invested into the creation of web based resources for language students. Thank you again for the resources and I look forward to viewing more of your information.
Denise

Reply
Rob White
5/12/2013 11:53:59 pm

Meltem,

Great Screencast! Word Sift looks like a wonderful tech tool to help students understand the text. I wonder if teachers could use this for students that are learning English as a second langue. I believe there are several lessons that teachers can use this tool to increase vocabulary comprehension. I also like your use of Prezi for the presentation. Good Job!

Reply
Rachel Wologo
5/17/2013 12:13:42 pm

I really like this technology tool. The Common Core State Standards focus heavily on nonfiction reading and writing. I think this site would be an excellent for students to review a nonfiction text so they can better comprehend the information. I would love to try this out in my classroom to see if it had a positive impact on my students' nonfiction comprehension.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.